a journey from the heart

Trying New Things

Today is my third day of mostly whole foods and it has been quite an interesting adventure thus far.

Yesterday I tried soy milk for the first time. Unsweetened soy milk that is…and all I can say is, “Blech”!

20130724-192442.jpg

Suffice it to say I will not be drinking that again anytime soon. While I like soy beans a lot, I will try almond milk next. I plan to attempt to make my own soon, so stay tuned….

Tonight, however, I had a great time preparing Bok choy for the first time. My boyfriend and I chopped and sautéed all the veggies, cooked some tri-color quinoa and mixed it all together. Yum!

20130724-192959.jpg

I’m not much for using measuring cups or spoons; I usually let my palate and mood dictate food prep. So here instead is my ingredient list:

Onion
Garlic
Fresh ginger
Red bell pepper
Sesame seeds
Bok choy
Spinach
Asparagus spears
Portobello mushrooms
Fresh squeezed lime juice
Cracked red pepper
Coarse sea salt
Olive oil
Tri-color quinoa

Sauté onion, garlic, ginger, sesame seeds, lime juice, and cracked red pepper on a little olive oil. Add all other veggies and sea salt with 1/4 cup water, cover and steam for about 10 minutes. Add 1 cup cooked quinoa, mix and serve.

Bon apetite’

Comments on: "Trying New Things" (2)

  1. What? You never tried soy milk? Whats up with that? I saw vejucated and loved it! Plus, last night I saw 2 truckloads of chickens being transported and that (along with other things) got rid of any leftover chicken cravings! Miss You!

    • No kidding! I bought some almond milk this afternoon to try tomorrow. Will follow up in a few weeks when I attempt to make my own. Wouldn’t it be fun to get together and cook again? Perhaps one day we will. Love to the family.

Leave a Reply

